Hart County Students Named as Young Georgia Authors

yga  Hart County Schools are proud and excited to announce 12 students from all five Hart schools have been named as FY20 Young Georgia Authors in the statewide competition. Sponsored by the Georgia Language Arts Supervisors (GLAS) and the Georgia Regional Educational Service Agency (RESA) network with support from the Georgia Department of Education, the purpose of the Young Georgia Authors (YGA) writing competition is to encourage students to develop enthusiasm for and expertise in writing, to provide a context to celebrate writing successes, and to recognize student achievement in arts and academics.

For more than two decades, this competition has been open to any student enrolled in Georgia public schools, kindergarten- 12th grade. In Hart County, competition winners were selected at every grade level.  

From Hart, the following students were named for their stories:

  • Kindergarten: Grayson Morris, South Hart Elementary School
  • First grade: Sam Moss, North Hart Elementary School
  • Second grade: Asher Marchman, Hartwell Elementary School
  • Third grade: Joniyah, Glaze, Hartwell Elementary School
  • Fourth grade: Kaelynn Shapland, South Hart Elementary School
  • Fifth grade: Jackson Carter, Hartwell Elementary School
  • Sixth grade: Juliette Cason, Hart County Middle School
  • Seventh grade: Lake Dickenson, Hart County Middle School
  • Eighth grade: Isabella Chitwood, Hart County Middle School
  • Ninth grade: Madeline Owens, Hart County High School
  • Tenth grade: Ken’Asia Johnson, Hart County High School
  • Eleventh grade: Chess Mitchell, Hart County High School
  • Twelfth grade: Omari Durrett, Hart County High School

Hart County High School Winners, L-R: 

Ken’Asia Johnson, tenth grade; Madeline Owens, ninth grade; Omari Durrett, twelfth grade; Chess Mitchell, eleventh grade


Hart County Middle School Winners, L-R: 

Bella Chitwood, eighth grade; Lake Dickenson, seventh grade; Juliette Cason, sixth grade

hcms winners

North Hart Elementary School Winner, Sam Moss:

sam nhes

Hartwell Elementary School Winners, L-R: 

Asher Marchman, second grade; Joniyah Glaze, third grade; Jackson Carter, fifth grade


South Hart Elementary School Winners, L-R: 

Grayson Morris, kindergarten; Kaelynn Shapland, fourth grade

shes winners

Congratulations to these students for their hard work and creativity!