Return to Headlines

Young Georgia Authors Named

The Hart County Charter System is pleased to announce the district level 2016-2017 Young Georgia Author winners.

The purpose of the Young Georgia Authors writing competition is to encourage students to develop enthusiasm for and expertise in their writing, to provide a context to celebrate their writing success, and to recognize student achievement in arts and academics.

This prestigious competition has been engaging Georgia students for more than two decades and is open to any student currently enrolled in Georgia public schools, grades K-12. The competition is sponsored by the Georgia Council of Teachers of English with the Georgia Department of Education’s support and cooperation.

The writing contest begins in each school with a school-wide competition. Grade level winners are announced and then sent to the district office. System level winners are selected by outside judges.

The following students have been named Hart County Charter System winners:




Claire Hoy


Hartwell Elementary

Ellie Corbett

1st Grade

North Hart Elementary

Andrew Brown

2nd Grade

North Hart Elementary

Caleigh Woody

3rd Grade

South Hart Elementary

Lyra Kate Osborne

4th Grade

North Hart Elementary

Isabella Chitwood

5th Grade

Hartwell Elementary

Aeva Looney

6th Grade

Hart County Middle School

Braden Whitson

7th Grade

Hart County Middle School

Abi Whitaker

8th Grade

Hart County Middle School

Harli Cleveland

9th Grade

Hart County High School

Rachel Tellano

10th Grade

Hart County High School

Katherine Tucker

11th Grade

Hart County High School

Sarah Seay

12th Grade

Hart County High School

Their writing entries will be sent to Pioneer RESA. If selected as RESA level winners, they will compete at the state level. State level winners will be announced Friday, May 12, 2017.