Return to Headlines

Schools Announce Teachers of the Year

The Hart County Charter System is proud to announce its new class of Teachers of the Year for the 2023-2024 school year.

The following teachers were voted by their colleagues to be the next Teacher of the Year for their respective school:

Mr. Luke Christopher, Hart County High School

Mr. Leland Jones, Hart County Middle School

Mrs. Britney Morrison, Hartwell Elementary School

Mrs. Nikki Bowers, North Hart Elementary School

Mrs. Sommer Morris, South Hart Elementary School

“I am so proud and excited for all of our Teachers of the Year. It is evident these teachers have earned respect and admiration from their peers, which is to be commended. All five of these teachers represent the best of the teaching profession, and we are grateful to have their talents in our school system,” Superintendent Jennifer Carter said. “I look forward to celebrating these exemplary educators and announcing the System winner in the fall.”

Luke Christopher is a Math teacher at Hart County High School. He is in his 8th year of teaching at HCHS.

Leland Jones is an 8th grade Special Education teacher at Hart County Middle School. He is in his 4th year of teaching at HCMS.

Britney Morrison is a 1st grade teacher at Hartwell Elementary School. She is in her 9th year of teaching at HES.

Nikki Bowers is a 2nd grade teacher at North Hart Elementary School. She is in her 14th year of teaching at NHES.

Sommer Morris is a Kindergarten teacher at South Hart Elementary School. She is in her 10th year of teaching at SHES.

The Teachers of the Year will be recognized at the regular Hart County Board of Education meeting on May 8th at the board office located at 284 Campbell Drive, Hartwell. The overall System Teacher of the Year will be announced at the annual employee convocation in July.